sets the permissible rent increase at 7% plus the western region CPI
Office of Economic Analysis has decreased the permissible rent
increase for 2020. State law sets the permissible rent increase at 7%
plus the western region CPI. CPI went down from 3.3% to 2.9 %. This
makes the allowable statewide rent increase cap 9.9% for 2020.
- The Oregon Department of Administrative Services announced
Wednesday the annual maximum rent increase allowed by statute for
calendar year 2020, under the terms of a new state law. The DAS
Office of Economic Analysis has calculated the maximum percentage as
the passage of Senate Bill 608 in the 2019 legislative session, Oregon
law requires DAS to calculate and post to its website, by Sept. 30 of
each year, the maximum annual rent increase percentage allowed by
statute for the following calendar year.
statute, OEA calculates this amount as 7% plus the Consumer Price
Index for All Urban Consumers, West Region (All Items), as most
recently published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
allowable rent increase percentage for the 2020 calendar year is
9.9%. DAS will calculate and post the percentage for the 2021
calendar year by Sept. 30, 2020.
Click for More
Have You Heard?
Go to the Forms Store and
check it out
ORHA Forms Store
Rental Housing Association is now offering the “Application to Rent,
Form 1” free to all members.
You will be
allowed to print and download the blank form and instructions, by
clicking the following links:
also still buy and complete the fill-in Application Form 1, by adding
it to your cart.
Security Deposit Amount: No state law. Landlords may not impose or
increase a deposit within the first year of a tenancy unless both
landlord and tenant agree to modify the rental agreement to allow for
a pet or other cause. (Or. Rev. Stat. § 90.300(5a))
Move-In Fees: Application fees and other fees, including
non-refundable fees, are allowed in Oregon. However, no portion of
the security deposit can be designated as non-refundable for any
reason. (Or. Rev. Stat. § 90.140 and Or. Rev. Stat. § 90.295)
Deposits: Allowed, but not for service animals. (Or. Rev. Stat. §
Deposit Refund Timeline: Landlords are required to return security
deposits within 31 days after the termination of the tenancy and the
delivery of the rental unit to the landlord. [Both of these
conditions must be met 31 day countdown begins.] Landlords must
provide and accounting to inform tenants of the reasoning behind any
withheld security deposits. This, along with the remaining portion of
the deposit, must be personally delivered or mailed within 31 days.
(Or. Rev. Stat. § 90.300(12))
Exemption Under SB 608: Think
Like a Tenant?
608 is in full force and effect. Many Landlords are wrestling with SB
608’s language and meaning,
its effect on landlords’ rights, if any they still have.
Landlords’ biggest fear over SB 608 was its purported elimination of
Landlords’ rights to serve No Cause Notices of Termination. While SB
608 has significantly undermined Landlords’ rights to serve No Cause
Notices, certain exemptions remain which still allow for No Cause
Notices. One such exemption
Repair/Renovation Exemption - functions by placing Landlords in the
intriguingly awkward position of arguing
premises are uninhabitable. In other words, it causes Landlords to
think like a Tenant, when assessing the magnitude of their
habitability problems during the repairs/renovations.
Stop Raising Rents in Portland
Portland City Council passed yet another ordinance that will harm the
housing market in the city. Landlords will now be required to
register all their rental units with the city and pay a $60 yearly
registration fee for each unit.
economist, or even a student who has taken Econ 101, can tell you
that countries with more regulations are less prosperous than nations
that enjoy greater economic freedom. Entrepreneurship, from the
opening of a small bakery to the development of an apartment complex,
is seriously disincentivized by regulations. Rules and fees placed on
the housing industry cause any would be entrepreneurs and developers—
individuals who could provide a solution to Portland’s housing
problem—to think twice and reconsider investment in housing rentals.
This new ordinance joins a slew of deterrent regulations on rental
housing within Portland.
past few years, Portland’s City Council has approved policies that
restrict or complicate a landlord’s ability to reject a rental
applicant for reasons such as criminal background or ability to pay
rent, and that require landlords to help pay for a renter’s relocation
costs. Those who have already built rental housing may find it more
lucrative and safer simply to sell the property they own rather than
continue to rent it. Those considering building new rentals may now
balk at the opportunity altogether.
ORHA Education Classes
local Association for details
Association can provide Continuing Education Certificates that allow
you to sharpen your skills and allow continued practice of service in
1-2 Hour Classes
Attorney - by an attorney
Form #60 -
One Form Does It All
For Rental Owners
Move Out's - Procedures
Management 101 LLT Law
The Art Of
Disasters - Now What?
Ask A Tax
Professional - by a tax person
Your Rental Policy
Attract The Best Tenant
Died! Now What?
The Roommate And The Aftermath
So Now You
Are A Rental Owner
3 - 4 Hour Classes
Housing and Reasonable Accommodations
Dark Side of Property Management
Tenant Law Introduction/Review
Move Out to
Screening, and Applicable Fair Housing Laws
Issues - Do Not Delay
The 2019 Oregon Rental Housing Association
Forms Manual is available now! Completely
A must have
for any private landlord or property manager.
the passage of senate bill 608, several forms designed by ORHA have
been updated to reflect the changes in the law. This manual is an
instructional guide on how and when to use these forms.
Call or stop by your local ROA office to get your
information, call the ORHA office at: